Header Image

Honourary Members

Honourary Members are a revered group appointed by the board to recognize their significant contributions to contemporary Canadian craft, including the recipients of the Robert Jekyll Award. The list of honourary members also acknowledges members from the previous incarnation of the Canadian Crafts Federation, the Canadian Crafts Council.

Honourary Members

Robert Jekyll, Ontario

Stained glass artist Robert Jekyll is the founding president of the CCF/FCMA and has been closely associated with the development of stained glass in Canada. Jekyll helped guide the Canadian Crafts Federation through change and is a significant force in the craft, visual art and design movements. In 2010 Jekyll was inducted into the Royal Canadian Academy of Arts. Named after his leadership, the Robert Jekyll Award is a prestigious honour to recognize an invaluable citizen of craft.

Stained Glass, The Canadian Encyclopedia, by Robert Jekyll

Charles Lewton-Brain, Alberta

Master goldsmith Charles Lewton-Brain (Calgary, AB) is the former President of the CCF/FCMA. He has trained, studied and worked in Germany, Canada and the United States. Since 1986 he has lived in Calgary and served 19 years as the head of the Jewellery and Metals Program at the Alberta College of Art + Design.

2005 Alberta Craft Award of Honour

2012 Canada Council laureate

Jean Johnson, Ontario

Jean Johnson’s professional and volunteer career spanned 65 years. She was a passionate supporter of Craft Ontario, serving on numerous committees and as a board member. 

“My participation is based on the potential to make something exciting, new and important happen.”
– Jean Johnson, 2008

OCAD University Remembers Honorary Fellow Jean Johnson, CM

Marilyn Stothers, Manitoba

Marilyn was one of the first quilters to perfect a method of machine-piecing and appliqueing thin strands of curved patchwork. Eventually, she wrote a book, Curved Strip-Piecing, to share this skill with others. She is internationally renowned, exhibiting her quilts in the Ottawa Parliament building and worldwide. 

Curved Strip-Piecing – A New Technique by Marilyn Stothers

Information gathered from Quilt Inspiration: http://quiltinspiration.blogspot.com/2010/03/curves-colors-contrasts-artistry-of.html 

Simon Wroot, Alberta

Simon Wroot is a metal artist who became the CCF/FCMA President of the Board of Directors with over a decade of history with the organization. Trained as a jewellery artist, he is known for creating small detailed landscape sculptures. 

Artists of Bluerock Gallery | Meet Simon Wroot

Jane Kenyon, British Columbia

Jane Kenyon began working as a medical doctor, eventually studying and working as an artist full-time in 1993. 

2012 Cheongju International Craft Biennale

Tête-à-Tête: Jane Kenyon, Seasoned Women

Instagram: @mpjkenyon

Deborah Dumka, British Columbia

Ann Roberts, Ontario

Michael Hosaluk, Saskatchewan

Charllotte Kwon, British Columbia

Anne Manuel, Newfoundland

Tom McFall, Alberta

Maegan Black, New Brunswick

Maegen Black held the position of Executive Director for the Canadian Crafts Federation for more than 16 years. Throughout her tenure, she played a pivotal role in advocating for the national craft voice of its members.

Gilles Latour

Barabara Heller,

2023 Laureate for the Robert Jekyll Award

Susan Hanrahan,

2021 Laureate for the Robert Jekyll Award

Dr. Sandra Afoldy (Post Humous)

Her outstanding accomplishments as a teacher, researcher, curator, author, and historian have earned her the CCF/FCMA’s first posthumous recognition for the Robert Jekyll Award after her unexpected passing in 2019.

Louise Lemieux Bérubé,

2020 Laureate for the Robert Jekyll Award

Canadian Craft Council Honourary Members

Josephine Aresnault

Joan Auld

Micheline Beauchamin

Gaetan Beaudin

Andrea Bronfman

Charles R. Bronfman

Mary Eileen Burnett

Dorothy K. Burnham

Joan M Chalmers

Lea Collins

Leta Cormier

Allan Crimmins

Mr. and Mrs. Davies

Erica Deichman Gregg

Marian DeWitt

Jean Fahrni

Douglas Farndale

Charley Farrero

George Fry

Jacques Garnier

Leo Gervais

Peter Gzowski

Folmer Hansen

Mary Eileen Hogg

Kinya Ishikawa

Jean Johnson

Elizabeth Keeling

Orland Larson

Luke Lindoe

Les Manning

Patricia McClelland

Peggy McLernon

Francis Merrit

Margo Meyer

Ann Mortimer

John Porter

Margery Powell

Margaret Quinn

Garmel Rich

Simone Roy

Dr. J.J.E. Salden

Maurice M. Savoie

Peggy Schofield

Deirdre Spencer

Harold G. Stacey

Marilyn Stothers

Walter Sunahara

Dr. Peter Swann

Judith Tinkl

Jan Waldorf

Jenny Webb

Ron Willoughby

Margorie Wilson